Breaking the Mold: How We Raised Our Son to Challenge Society’s Expectations and Thrive

Jeffrey Scott
10 min readAug 21, 2021

10 Unorthodox Tips for Raising a Son

That’s me and my boy. Photo Credit: Black Thumb Studios. Used with permission.

“Here’s how this is going to work. You’re not going to believe I have the audacity to do this, but I am.

The guy at the mic tried to tell us he understood- that he’d been in our place before.

It didn’t help.

“You’ve got 5 minutes to say goodbye,” he continued, “then all the parents are going to exit the doors to my left, and all the students are going to exit the doors to my right where their orientation leaders will greet them.”

He was met with awkward laughter.

There wasn’t a parent in the room that was OK with that plan, but we knew the man was right. This was the way it needed to be.

I waited as I my son hugged my wife first, then his younger sister, and finally he turned to hug me. I grabbed him and hugged him tight, and just when I thought he was ready for me to let him go I pulled him in a little closer. I was crying, and there’s a painful lump in my throat as I type these words today. I wondered to myself why it hit me so hard. Then in that moment I had a realization.

It wasn’t hard.

--

--